39 Reviews
    24 Reviews
    1 Reviews
    1 Reviews
    1 Reviews
5
24 Reviews
5
39 Reviews
5 Star
39
4 Star
0
3 Star
0
2 Star
0
1 Star
0
5
1 Reviews
5 Star
1
4 Star
0
3 Star
0
2 Star
0
1 Star
0
5
1 Reviews
5 Star
1
4 Star
0
3 Star
0
2 Star
0
1 Star
0
5
1 Reviews
5 Star
1
4 Star
0
3 Star
0
2 Star
0
1 Star
0
By Heather Thomson on Feb 16, 2022
Verified by google
I needed advice about how to repair the wood windows on my 1920 home and Paul was excellent. He installed invisible balances to make them easier to open and close and also added weather stripping to the windows and to my old wood doors to improve their winter performance. The difference has been amazing, especially with this crazy cold winter! I sincerely appreciated Paul’s knowledge, skill and conservation minded approach. He is highly recommended!
Share
By Paul Denys on Mar 02, 2022
Heather Thank you for your wonderful review. 100-year-old windows and doors hold a special place in my mind and heart. I love that we can, with a little tender loving care, make these components perform as well as brand new ones. Paul

By Dominic Taylor on Jan 25, 2022
Verified by google
In early 2021, we moved into a home built between 1895 and 1897 that contained many of its original features including its wood windows. I reached out to Paul to discuss a few different projects, window restoration being one of them. Paul is extremely knowledgeable and took the time to offer ideas on a number of possibilities, all of which surrounded our goal of restoring of the windows to full working capacity while adding some ease of use elements such as allowing year-round installation of the storm windows through installing hangers and stays, as well as installing invisible balances for our interior windows to permit easy opening/closing in place of the old "window sticks" used. We formalized our contract in April. We experienced start delays owing completely to the pandemic, but once Paul and Adam started in early September of 2021 they were always on time and worked from minute one until the end of the day to accomplish the goals they set out. The workmanship on the windows was excellent and while onsite they helped free up some transom windows and level/adjust many of the interior doors that had closing difficulties. Paul and Adam restored 21 windows and 21 storms along with 4 transoms and a number of doors in a two week span. The efficiency and consistent effort with no minutes wasted onsite were greatly appreciated. During the closing days of the work, Paul also noticed some elements of our roof corbels were missing and managed to have replacement reproduction parts made and colour-matched which he returned to install within a month of completing the windows (on a rainy day no less!) I recommend Paul unreservedly.
Share
By Paul Denys on Feb 15, 2022
Dominic Thanks for the great review. Adam and I really enjoyed reviving your old windows. It was a pleasure to make them function better than the day they were installed. There is something special about restoring old handmade windows. It is like the house becomes alive again. I hope they give you continued pleasure for years to come. Paul

By Sheril Armstrong on Dec 03, 2021
Verified by google
During the summer of 2021, in the middle of the pandemic, we needed to do some repair work on our front porch. The home was built in 1903 and a key objective was to preserve the historical value and architectural integrity of the property. The front verandah, the home’s most striking feature, is rare and unique to Ottawa. We were only willing to assign this project to someone who had the construction expertise and historical appreciation to successfully undertake a project of this nature. The selection of Denys Build/Design Renovation proved to be an inspired one. Paul and Adam were both detail-oriented and displayed the high degree of craftsmanship the project required. Both were diligent, reliable, meticulous and always forward-thinking. If there is one aspect of the project that was disappointing, it is the fact that the final cost far surpassed the original estimate. Unfortunately, due to the pandemic the fact this was a historic home, no one knew what to expect in the way of material shortages and related costs. Still, the final result is outstanding and we could never have achieved this result without the assistance of Denys Build/Design Renovation. - Sheril and Bob, Ottawa
Share
By Paul Denys on Dec 18, 2021
Bob & Sheril Thank you for recognizing our extra energy and efforts in making this exceptional restoration project. This project was unbelievably challenging due to the constant changing scope, shortage of materials and inflating material pricing due to COVID. We enjoyed playing a critical role in overcoming these difficult obstacles in the rebirth of this exceptional porch. We are proud of what we were able to achieve here. All the best.

By Roger Lewis on Nov 29, 2021
Verified by google
Paul is extremely knowledgeable and honest. He takes time to explain issues and potential solutions, and the quality of his workmanship is never in doubt. If you are looking for a builder you can trust, he is your man.
Share
By Paul Denys on Nov 29, 2021
Roger I really enjoy being of assistance for you. I view my role as a designer/builder is to make my customer aware of choice, they decide what fit them best.

L
By Linda Wheeler on Nov 23, 2021
Verified by email
Over several decades, Paul Denys has done a wide variety of renovations and repairs to my home. I truly value his expertise, professionalism, work quality and problem-solving skills. He always stands by his work. Paul is always my first contact for home renovations and repairs. Rev. L. Wheeler
Share
By Paul Denys on Nov 29, 2021
Linda Thank you for the wonderful review. I glad I could be there for you when you needed me.

By Tasya Tymczyszyn on May 30, 2021
Verified by google
We recently added a new powder room to the main floor of our Edwardian era home. The project was difficult given the age of the home (1907) and our design choices. From the original design process through to completion Paul demonstrated professionalism and expertise. He remained client focused and supportive. He shared his knowledge and empowered us to make decisions.
Share
By Paul Denys on Jun 10, 2021
I am thrill to be apart of your design/build renovation. I am also glad we were able to have such a positive influence on your decision process. I think the results are wonderful.

R
By Raymond Bedard on Oct 15, 2020
Verified by email
Paul and Adam did a great job. They took a very old, oddly shapped door that was in rather bad shape and turned it back into a beautiful thing. Because the door was not a standard shape everything had to be customized. Paul was great at making recommendations, providing advice and completing the work very quickly and efficiently. Paul and Adam were a pleasure to work with (very nice guys) and the completed work was outstanding.
Share
By Paul Denys on Oct 17, 2020
Thanks for the great review. Adam and I really enjoyed the reviving your front door entrance area. Restoring the front door was a great choice with low carbon impact result. Not mention it looks and function like it brand new. It was wonderful working with you guys.

E
By Emily Rozitis on Sep 10, 2020
Verified by email
Paul and Adam completed four days of work in my Old Ottawa East condo this summer (primarily lighting upgrades, installation of new doors, a new mantle and some other small repairs). I engaged Paul first for a consultation, which was excellent in order to determine the scope of work and to pin down exactly what I wanted to have done. Paul has excellent recommendations and really takes the time to understand his client's desired outcomes. His breadth of knowledge is simply outstanding and upon commencement of the work, he really took the time to explain to me why he was doing something a certain way, how things work and to ask for my opinion to ensure I would be fully satisfied with the choices and the results. Paul and Adam are extremely professional, courteous and hardworking. They are focused on the job at hand and committed to a very high quality of work. It was a pleasure to have them in my home and I wouldn't hesitate to use their services again for any renovations big or small.
Share
By Paul Denys on Sep 11, 2020
Emily Thanks for wonderful review. We really enjoyed the collaborative design/build experience with your renovation project. The synergy of your participation helped things run smoothly and efficiently and resulted in a wonderful and dramatic change to your living experience in your home. We are thrilled that we where able capture this for you. All the best. Paul

P
By patricia healey on Nov 21, 2019
Verified by email
excellent professional work done in a timely manner
Share

C
By Carl McIntosh on Oct 25, 2019
Verified by email
My wife and I had the opportunity to meet Paul and Adam this summer. They took on our project of installing a glass pane, painting, weather stripping a one hundred year old window and repairing the wood work on our dormer plus stripping and painting. Their attention to detail and work was outstanding. They even fixed a leak in our back porch that Paul had noticed while painting our fascia. Paul is extremely knowledgeable with older homes and works with you to complete the project. We have no hesitation in contracting them again next year to work on our century home.
Share
By Paul Denys on Oct 30, 2019
Carl Thank you for your great review. If though there was a heat wave this summer it, Adam and I had a great time working on your home. We get a great sense of pride and accomplishment preserving these one of kind, custom built heritage homes for the future. We enjoyed engaging with you and your family to make your home a better place to live. Paul

A
By Andrea C on Sep 04, 2019
Verified by email
Paul and his team did some renovations on a condo we recently purchased. Their knowledge, professionalism and work ethic resulted in an excellent renovation experience and outcome. We are so pleased with the suggestions Paul made and the solutions he and his team implemented. We wouldn’t hesitate to recommend Denys Builds Designs.
Share
By Paul Denys on Oct 22, 2019
Thanks for the great review. It was a pleasure to be apart of your renovation experience.

N
By N Morrison on Feb 11, 2019
Verified by email
We engaged Paul to investigate an intermittent leak that could not be solved by several other tradespeople. Paul was able to determine the source of the leak, implement a short term fix to verify where the leak was and then implement a permanent solution. He is attentive, prompt and takes time to answer any questions or concerns.
Share
By Paul Denys on Oct 22, 2019
Thank you for the review. I enjoyed being part of your solution.

By on Jan 24, 2019
Verified by email
A great business
Share

M
By mttt Timalsina on Jan 24, 2019
Verified by email
A great business really
Share
By Paul Denys on May 24, 2022
Thanks for your endorsement.

By on Jan 24, 2019
Verified by email
Test agina
Share

By on Jan 24, 2019
Verified by email
Great
Share

By on Jan 24, 2019
Verified by email
Paul Denys updated our basement laundry room. While not a huge job, he listened to what we wanted, and had some good suggestions about what could be done and what was not worth doing. The work was completed on time and both Paul and Adam were easy to get along with and professional.
Share

By on Jan 22, 2019
Verified by email
This is test 2 by Rick!
Share

By on Jan 22, 2019
Verified by email
This is a test review by Rick!
Share

By on Jan 17, 2019
Verified by email
Paul Denys upated the basement laundry room. Not a huge job, but Paul listened to what was wanted and made good suggestions with various options. The work was done on time and both Paul and Adam were good to deal with, effecient and professional.
Share

By on Jan 17, 2019
Verified by email
Paul Denys updated our basement laundry room. Not really a reno, but a very good improvement. Paul had some good suggestions, and also advised what was worth doing and what was not. The job was done on time and both Paul and Adam were efficient and professional.
Share

By on Jan 17, 2019
Verified by email
Paul Denys updated our laundry room. Not really a reno but a big improvement. He had useful suggestions for what to do what, and what was not worth doing. The work was done on time and both Paul and Adam were efficient and professional to deal with.
Share

By on Jan 14, 2019
Verified by email
They listened carefully to my statements and found good ways to proceed.They were thorough and the work was of good quality. Recommended!
Share
Load more
Load more
Load more
Denys Builds Designs 5 out of 5 based on 39 user reviews.